Diet’s Don’t Work

Standard

I’m not at a healthy weight.

Even writing that line was a struggle, because I have to face reality of the situation.  I’m overweight.  It makes me ashamed, embarrassed, and mad at myself for allowing this to go on for as long as it has which is essentially my entire life. Granted I do have an honest-to-God thyroid condition that effects my insulin and sugar levels and such (ask my endocrinologist if you don’t believe me!). This makes it just a little harder to lose weight than the average person. But I am sick of looking the way I do, feeling the way I do, and hiding behind a valid-yet-pathetic excuse. So I am changing my lifestyle, because diets especially ones that promise quick and easy results do not work.  Not for me, not for anyone.  And if you do shed those pounds in three weeks it is not healthy for your body and you are more apt to gain them back before the year is over. My freshman year at college I had a roommate who was no bigger than a size 10 and was obsessed with diet fads, pills, and teas. None of it worked for her, and she refused to eat healthy and go to the gym. So I am working on changing my lifestyle to a healthier one and holding myself responsible. One blog that just really, truly inspired me was Simply Taralynn, which was originally a tumblr blog called Undressed Skeleton when I stumbled upon it. You all should check out Taralynn’s site, I promise you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

